August 20–21, 2018

The Swedish House of Finance (SHoF) and Mistra Financial Systems (MFS) are pleased to invite interested academics and others to a conference on Sustainable Finance on August 20-21, 2018. The conference is held at IVA, Grev Turegatan 16, (August 20) and at Swedish House of Finance, Drottninggatan 98, 4th floor (August 21).

This two–day conference brings together leading academics with participants from industry and government. The first day of the conference features keynote presentations and panel discussions, primarily targeted at a non–academic audience.

The second conference day consists of presentations of current research.

Funded by Torsten Söderberg Foundation and Mistra Financial Systems (MFS).

Program information, press program in the meny.

Register here!

SUSTAINABLE FINANCE August 20–21 2018 - Program

August 20 at IVA Conference Center, Grev Turegatan 16, Stockholm

08.30 – 09.00
Coffee and Registration

09.00 – 09.45 
Keynote Laura Starks (University of Texas Austin), “Institutional investors and ESG Issues”

09.45 – 10.30   
Keynote Philipp Krueger (University of Geneva), “The Value Implications of Sustainability”

10.30 – 11.00    

11.00 – 12.00
Panel discussion: “Can Sustainability Generate Outperformance in Public Markets? If not, Should Investors Pursue it Anyway?” with Alexander Bassen (University of Hamburg), Magnus Billing (Alecta), Laura Starks

Moderator: Pehr Wissén (Stockholm School of Economics, SHoF)

12.00 – 13.00  
LUNCH (at conference venue)

13.00 – 13.45
Keynote Adair Morse (UC Berkeley), “Impact Investing”

13.45 – 14.30
Keynote Alex Edmans (London Business School), “The Business Case for Purposeful Business”

14.30 – 15.00  

15.00 – 16.30  
Panel discussion: “The Role of Investors in Building Sustainable Firms” with Alex Edmans, Åsa Riisberg (EQT), Anna Ryott (Norrsken)

Moderator: Bo Becker (Stockholm School of Economics, SHoF)


August 21 at Swedish House of Finance at Drottninggatan 98, 4th floor, Stockholm

08.30 – 09.00
Coffee and Registration

09.00 – 09.45
Keynote Karl Lins (University of Utah), “Entrenched Insiders and Corporate Sustainability (ESG): How Much Does the ‘G’ Matter for ‘E’ and ‘S’ Performance Around the World?”, discussant Dirk Jenter (London School of Economics)

09.45 – 10.30     
Keynote Gustav Martinsson (KTH Royal Institute of Technology and SHoF), “Can Environmental Policy Redirect Technical Change? Pollution Taxes, R&D, and Clean Technology Development”, discussant Tania Babina (Columbia Business School)


11.00 – 11.45        
Keynote Pedro Matos (Darden), “#Leviathan Inc. and Corporate Environmental Engagement”, discussant Per Strömberg (Stockholm School of Economics, SHoF)

11.45 – 12.30  
Keynote Andreas Hoepner (UC Dublin), “ESG Shareholder Engagement and Downside Risk”, discussant Jessica Jeffers (Chicago Booth)

12.30 – 13.15     

13.15 – 14.05
Keynote Enrichetta Ravina (Northwestern University), “Investor Ideology”

Keynote Ryan Bubb (New York University), “The Party Structure of Mutual Funds”


14.15 – 15.00
Keynote Oğuzhan Karakaş (University of Cambridge), “Coordinated Engagements”, discussant Hannes Wagner (Bocconi)

15.00 – 15.45  
Keynote Samuel Hartzmark (Chicago Booth),” Do Investors Value Sustainability? A Natural Experiment Examining Ranking and Fund Flows”, discussant Mariassunta Giannetti (Stockholm School of Economics, SHoF)


16.00 – 16.45      
Keynote Shan Hua (Henley Business School), “How does the stock market reward companies with a lower carbon footprint?”, discussant Thummim Cho (London School of Economics)

16.45 – 17.30 
Keynote Philipp Krueger (University of Geneva), “The Sustainability Footprint of Institutional Investors”, discussant Gustav Martinsson (KTH, SHoF)


Funded by Torsten Söderberg Foundation and Mistra Financial Systems (MFS).

Organizing committee: Adair Morse, UC Berkeley and NBER Bo Becker, Stockholm School of Economics/SHoF and CEPR

SUSTAINABLE FINANCE August 20–21 2018 - Discussants and Presenters


Alex Edmans

Alex Edmans is Professor of Finance at London Business School and Academic Director of the Centre for Corporate Governance. Alex has a BA from Oxford and a PhD from MIT, and was previously a tenured professor at Wharton and an investment banker at Morgan Stanley.

Alex specialises in corporate governance, executive compensation, and CSR. Alex has spoken at the World Economic Forum in Davos, testified in the UK Parliament, and given TEDx talks on “The Social Responsibility of Business” and “From Post-Truth to Pro-Truth”.  He has appeared on Bloomberg, BBC, CNBC, CNN, ESPN, ITV, Reuters, Sky News, and Sky Sports, and written for the Financial Times, Harvard Business ReviewHuffington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Alex serves on the Steering Group of The Purposeful Company, on Royal London Asset Management’s Responsible Investment Advisory Committee, and as Managing Editor of the Review of Finance, the leading academic finance journal in Europe.

Philipp Krueger

Philipp Krüger is Associate Professor of Responsible Finance at the University of Geneva and holds a Junior Chair at the Swiss Finance Institute. After studying Economics and Finance in Germany, the United States, and France, he graduated with a PhD in Economics from the Toulouse School of Economics in 2010. His research interests are in corporate, sustainable, and behavioral finance. His research has been published in top academic journals such as the Journal of Finance or the Journal of Financial Economics. Prof. Krüger is a regular speaker at leading finance conferences worldwide. His research has received or been nominated for awards from organizations such as the BSI Gamma Foundation, Chicago Quantitative Alliance, the Financial Management Association, and the European Financial Management Association. In 2015, he was awarded the Moskowitz Prize for his outstanding research in the field of sustainable investing and he received the Best Quantitative Paper Prize at the Principles for Responsible Investment Academic Network Conference in 2017.

Adair Morse

Laura Starks





Alexander Bassen

Magnus Billing

Åsa Riisberg

Anna Ryott